Wednesday 24 May 2017 News Updated at 11:05 AM IST
Custom Search
Architecture honour for three Spaniards - Deccan Herald
Architecture honour for three Spaniards
Geetha Balachandran,
More... A A
Three architects from the Catalonian region of Spain, who have worked together collaboratively since founding their firm RCR Arquitectes in their hometown in 1988, have been selected as the 2017 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureates. An announcement to this effect was made by Tom Pritzker, Chairman of the Hyatt Foundation, which sponsors the award that is known internationally as architecture's highest honour.

Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta were named the laureates of the 2017 Pritzker Prize. They represent the first time that three architects together are honoured with the Pritker Prize. As the winners of the 39th edition of the prize, it is the second time that laureates hail from Spain, following Rafael Moneo who received the award in 1996.

The three prize-winning architects evoke universal identity through their creative and extensive use of modern materials, including recycled steel and plastic. "They have demonstrated that unity of a material can lend such incredible strength and simplicity to a building," says Glenn Murcutt, chairman of the award jury.

In 2013, the three Spanish architects established the RCR BUNKA Foundation to support architecture,
landscape, arts and culture throughout society. Much of their work may be seen throughout Catalonia, Spain and greater Europe.

This year the Pritzker Prize award ceremony will take place at Akasaka Palace in Tokyo, Japan, on May 20.